April 2014 marks the 150th anniversary of Union General William Tecumseh Sherman’s 1864 march into Georgia. Georgia Public Broadcasting and the Atlanta History Center are commemorating this event with the launch of a new original series, “37 Weeks: Sherman on the March.”
Each of the 90-second “37 Weeks” segments will air multiple times on GPB’s television and radio platforms during the week paralleling the same week in Shermanʼs campaign and tell a story that brings an understanding to the human dimension of war. What did it feel like when Shermanʼs army - 100 thousand strong - was bearing down on your city? What was motivating Shermanʼs fateful decisions? What was it like for the foot solider on either side of the battlefield? What were some of those twists of fate or ironic moments that war inevitably produces? These are among the stories “37 Weeks” will explore.
From the Archives
Rare color footage of Peachtree Street recorded in 1939.
Five Beautiful Buildings Atlanta Destroyed
Atlanta has an unfortunate tendency to pave over her history in the name of progress. Because of this tendency, we’ve lost some truly remarkable structures. We wanted to take a look back at some of those losses, so we decided to ask Atlanta History Center staff members to name five of Atlanta’s most significant casualties.
Atlanta Terminal Station
Located on Spring Street, Atlanta’s Terminal Station was designed by P. Thornton Marye, whose firm also designed the Fox Theater. Completed in 1905, the Beaux-Arts style reinforced concrete structure was razed in 1971. A portion of the site is now occupied by the Richard B. Russell Federal Building.
Atlanta’s Equitable Building was designed by John Wellborn Root and was completed in 1892. Built in the Chicago School style, it was considered Atlanta’s first skyscraper. Located on Edgewood Avenue, the structure was demolished in 1971 because some felt it blocked the view of the new Trust Company building constructed nearby.
The Second Kimball House
After the first Kimball House burned in 1883, a second Kimball House opened for business on New Year’s Day in 1885. Located on the south-southeast corner of Five Points, the impressive structure was demolished in 1959 to make way for a parking deck which still stands.
U.S. Customs House
Located on Marietta Street, Atlanta’s U.S. Post Office and Customs House opened in 1878. The structure was used as Atlanta City Hall from 1911 to 1930 when it was demolished.
Located on Peachtree Street, the Piedmont Hotel was built in 1903. Designed by W. F. Denny, architect of Rhodes Hall and the Kriegshaber House (now Wrecking Ball Brewpub), the hotel was demolished in the 1960s to make way for the Equitable Building.
December 29, 1847
Governor George Towns signed an act incorporating the city of Atlanta.
December 16, 1861
GA Governor Joseph E. Brown signed an act allowing married women to have their own bank accounts.
December 12, 1829
GA Governor George Gilmer signed an act making it illegal to teach a slave to read or write.
The Swan House at the Atlanta History Center was one of many Georgia set locations used during the filming of the movie The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.
The Atlanta History Center’s Capitol Tour experience offers visitors an opportunity to pay tribute to Atlanta’s burgeoning film industry as well as Swan House’s new chapter in cinematic history. The Capitol Tour experience includes a guided tour through Swan House showcasing the rooms that were used during filming. Visitors will have exclusive admittance to a behind-the-scenes exhibit displaying photos from the production at Swan House and select props from the film. Snap a photo at two unique photo opportunities presenting recreations of portions of sets from scenes in the movie. Once the tour leaves the interior of Swan House, visitors may head outdoors to explore the gardens and lawn and capture more photo opportunities from the film.
TICKETS ON SALE NOW! Come learn about the AHC’s Swan House and her role in the upcoming film The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.